Elf For Health and Running Survey

So I signed up for a few challenges to get me through the holiday season (perhaps too many), and one of them was the Elf 4 Health group.  This pairs people up to offer support during the holiday season and has a variety of daily challenges.  My current partner (for two weeks) is Katie.  It is great for support and I love the challenges.  Tomorrow is try to eat as many colors as possible.  I definitely am not the greatest at that, so I stocked up on veggies and fruit at Trader Joe’s last night to get as much variety as possible.

I’ve been doing really well with my training for the marathon.  I have a half marathon over the weekend, and I’m afraid I will come in last.  Luckily the full marathon is happening on the same course, so not all of them will beat me.  I’m glad the course won’t shut down.

I saw this fun running survey on a few blogs, and I decided to fill it out.

1.  FUEL: Shot Bloks, GU, Energy Chews, Candy or Other?

Mainly GU while running.  I can’t really chew anything so I stick with them.  I do love shot blocks or sport jelly beans before I start.  They taste like cand

 

2.  Race Length: 5K, 10K, 1/2 Marathon, Marathon, Ultra or Other?

I think probably the 1/2 marathon is my favorite.  I loathe 5ks, and I haven’t done a lot of 10ks (only two).  The 1/2 is great because I like the amount of training requires.  Just the right amount.

Although I do have quite a few marathons on my bucket list, and I will probably continue to do 1 per year for the foreseeable future.

 

3.  Workout Bottoms: Skirts, Running Shorts, Capris, Pants, or Other?

Capris.  I’m usually too hot for pants, but I chafe in shorts.  I want to try a skirt though.

 

4.  Sports Drink: Gatorade, Powerade, Cytomax, you stick to water when you run or Other?

Usually carry water so I can take a Gu, but I will also have whatever sports drink the race I’m training for serves.

 

5.  Running temperatures: HOT or COLD?

I guess cold.  I warm up pretty quickly while running.

 

6.  Running Shoe Brands: Saucony, Mizuno, Nike, Brooks, Asics, or Other?

I have a pair of asics and a pair of new balance.  I will go with whatever works, but I’ve had new balance for a while now.

 

7.  Pre-Race Meal: Oatmeal. Bagel, Banana, Eggs, Cereal or Other?

Coffee and a powerbar.

 

8.  Rest Days: 1x per week, 2x per week, never ever ever or Other?

1-2 depending on how good I am with cross training

 

9.  Music: Have to have it or go without it?

Music for sure.  I also like audio books

 

10.  #1 reason for running: stress-relief, endorphins, you love to race, so you can eat all the cupcakes you want, weight-loss, love running for social reasons or other?

I love races (specifically finishing them) and I also use it as exercise//weight-loss.  

About Anna S.

History Major. Runner. 20 something. Arts Education Manager. New Okie.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Elf For Health and Running Survey

  1. I saw your blog link on the 13 in 2013 challenge on facebook and had to click on it! I have a BA in History and a masters in European History. History nerds unite!

Leave a Reply

