Race Recap: Go! St. Louis 10k

Sorry for the day delay on the race recap!  Yesterday was a long day.

Saturday

Saturday I left right afterwork to get to St. Louis!  I met Jacob at Pho Grand.  Pho Grand is one of our favorite St. Louis restaurants.  Whenever I go back we try to eat up all of my favorite St. Louis restaurants.  Pho Grand is a Vietnamese restaurant.  Jacob and I always get the same thing.  I didn’t take a picture of it because Pho Grand is dark, but we shared lettuce wraps and spring rolls to start.  For my main dish I had tofu with a curry and coconut sauce.  Delicious.

We were done by nine, and we had separate cars so I went to drive home.  I was ready to be in bed by 9:30 for an early morning race day.

However, it was not to be.  Jacob got a flat tire, and he tried to fix it.  However, the bolts broke or something.  I waited with him for a tow truck for an hour and a half.  It was 11:30 by the time we made it back to his place.

Sunday

After only 5 hours of sleep, I was up to start getting ready for the RACE!

I had my usual pre-race breakfast of a chocolate powerbar.

It took a while to wake Jacob up.  It also took him a while to drag him away from this.

That is Jacob’s cat Kobe.

We made it to the race with plenty of time to spare!  Picked up our cute bibs and our race shirts.

I don’t know why I am grimacing in the picture!  But the bibs are adorable.

Our long sleeves shirt.  They are cotton, but I’m happy with that.

Before we knew it, it was time for the start line.  I have to say the start line was SUPER unorganized.  Really crowded.  I think there were a lot of people there and they didn’t really have a good way to organize it.

It only took us a minute to pass the start line.

The first mile was hard!  St. Louis is way hillier than I remembered.  I think the hills, the crowds, plus the lack of sleep really did me in.  I still managed to get under a 12 minute mile which was my goal!

They also only had water at mile 3, and that seemed really far from the start!

Mile 1-2 was a little better than mile 1.  The crowds had started to thin out, so it was easier to have some room to run.  The route was kind of slanted, so my knee hurt a little bit at the beginning.

Part of the route ran through the grounds of the Anheuser-Busch brewery.  That part was really neat!  A little after mile 3 there was FINALLY a water stop.  It was super crowded, but I manage to get some water and a bottle of powerade for later.  I also took a GU at mile 3.

The last half was a lot easier than the second.  I think I finally got into my stride.  I was able to kick it the last two miles.  The last mile our pace dropped to 10:45, which is awesome for me!  My goal for half marathons is around 11:30.

Jacob and I finished strong in 1 hour 14 minutes and 25 seconds.  It was awesome.

We got a cute little medal at the end!

We ran into one of my friends afterwards!

Overall, I think the race was a lot of fun.  The start seemed ridiculously unorganized, but it ended up getting better.

There were a lot of cute costumes.  I can’t imagine running six miles in a costume!

Afterwards we went out to eat.  I also made a massive REI trip, so you’ll see a lot of the stuff I picked up over the next few weeks!

Would you ever run a race in a costume?

About Anna S.

History Major. Runner. 20 something. Arts Education Manager. New Okie.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

