History Happened

I’ve decided that once a week I’m going to incorporate a fun historical fact/tidbit into the blog!  I thought I should utilize the history part of my blog as well.  The posts definitely won’t always be about running, but I hope it will be fun.  Stay tuned for that at the end of the blog.

Food

The canned pumpkin sitting in my fridge needs to be used up, so pumpkin will most likely be in my breakfast for the next few days.

Today I decided to make a pumpkin smoothie.

My mix contained:

  • 1 cup Vanilla Soymilk
  • 1/4 cup of pumpkin (plus another spoonful)
  • A lot of pumpkin pie spice
  • A drizzle of honey
  • One frozen banana

I put all of that in the blender until smooth!  I like my smoothies pretty thick, so I had an entire frozen banana.  If you don’t mind a thinner smoothie, I think one half would be fine.

I ate it out of a bowl topped with some Kashi Go Lean honey almond flax!

Very delicious, and it kept me full from about 7:50 until 10:40.

I took an early lunch today, so no morning snack.

I wanted something quick for lunch so I had enough time to watch E! News!!  I defrosted some bread before I left for work, so a sandwich it was!  On the sandwich was one slice of Havarti cheese, 1/4 avocado, baby arugula, and salt and pepper.

On the side, I sauteed some kale in about a teaspoon of EVOO and added some paprika.

Workout

I went on a four mile run after work

Run

  • 4 miles
  • 46 minutes

I felt pretty good, although the Park I run in was super crowded!  I don’t know why.  I felt kind of cramped.  Before I left, I had a Mocha Clif energy shot.  I thought I would be okay with just the water fountain in the park, but I think I was extra thirsty today.

History Happened

For my first segment on history, I thought I would include a fact on marathoning.

1904 Summer Olympics

The 1904 Summer Olympics were held in St. Louis as a part of the 1904 World’s Fair.  This was only the third Olympics held since the revival of the Olympics in 1896, and it was the first of the Olympic Games to be held in the United States.

As a part of the Olympics, there was a marathon.  In St. Louis.  In the Summer.  The marathon started at 3 IN THE AFTERNOON.  When it started, the temperature was in the 90s.  Out of the 32 starts, only 14 finished!  14!  The winner ran the marathon in 3 hours and 29 minutes.  Most of the marathoners didn’t wear socks and many didn’t wear shoes.

The British winner, Thomas Hicks, ran the race for the United States.  His handlers gave him brandy to sip out 4 miles from the finish line.  He collapsed as soon as he finished, and he never ran again.  In fact, he probably would have died had he not been immediately treated by doctors.

Sounds like quite the grueling ordeal huh?  I’m certainly glad my marathon is not August 30th in St. Louis!!  St. Louis gets hot in the summer.

Here on some sites for more information about the 1904 Olympics and the Marathon.

This is the book I found most of my information in.  There are pictures from the marathon there. St. Louis Olympics 1904 by George Matthews and Sandra Marshall.

At the Fair–This is a nice website that has been well researched.  It talks a lot about the facts and legends around the fair.  If you heard that it was invented at the world’s fair, odds are it wasn’t.

1904 World’s Fair Society–The World’s Fair Society has compiled a group of links about the World’s Fair.

Finally, the Missouri History Museum has a great exhibit on the World’s Fair.  They have some information online here.  If you are in St. Louis, go to the History Museum.  It rocks.  And I’m not just saying that because I interned there for 2 years.

Do you have any history questions?  Do you have a favorite historical event or historical time period?

I will answer any history related questions on the blog!

About Anna S.

History Major. Runner. 20 something. Arts Education Manager. New Okie.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to History Happened

  1. Tina says:

    History is the one subject I always didn’t do well in. I could never remember everything! LOL

    Your pumpkin smoothie sounds delicious!

Leave a Reply

