Coconut Macaroons: A Baking Experiment

As part of Macaroon Monday, I decided to try my hand a baking.

First you should know a few things.

I’m not really a baker.  I wish I could be.  I’m just not very good at it.  I even burnt slice and bake cookies in high school.  Who does that?  Apparently I do.

I was convinced this meant I couldn’t cook for the longest time.  No, I can cook.  I just am terrible about following recipes/measuring/baking for a certain amount of time.  I’m more of a just wing it sort of girl.

But in the spirit of Macaroon Monday, I decided to try my hand at it.

I decided to make coconut macaroons to step out side of my comfort zone.  They seemed easy enough!

I combined these two recipes!  Mainly because I had the ingredients for the Food Network one, but the baking materials for this Martha Steward one.

I started with two egg whites and a pinch of salt.

The recipe said mix together until frothy.  I probably could have used a hand mixture here, but I don’t have one.

You can’t tell from this picture, but it is frothy.

The next step is to add vanilla and condensed milk.

All together.

The next step was to carefully fold the coconut into the mixture with a rubber spatula.

I don’t have a rubber spatula.  I’m also not good at carefully folding things.

It still seemed fine!

I think somewhere it said it would make 20 macaroons.

It totally made way more!

It made this try which had 24.

It also made this.

I’m going to call it my macaroon cake.  Really it is Anna is too lazy to make cookie shapes.

The macaroons didn’t come off the wax paper easily!  They ended up being ugly, but still delicious!

Twix approved.

So baking, kind of success.  Kind of a failure.  There are so many ways baking can go wrong!

I’m glad I did it though.

About Anna S.

History Major. Runner. 20 something. Arts Education Manager. New Okie.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Coconut Macaroons: A Baking Experiment

  1. Pingback: Gsjsjx | Hangry Pants

Leave a Reply

