Flashback Friday

Hi all!  Another Flashback Friday here. Each Friday, I will be featuring Old School songs that are excellent running tracks.  I will offer my commentary on the songs!

First my food and workout!

Food

I was up earlier this morning, so I made pumpkin oatmeal.  I used Vanilla Almond Milk, 1/3 cup pumpkin, 1/2 cup oats and a lot of pumpkin pie spice!

Lunch was leftovers reused.

I added brown rice to the spiced carrot soup to bulk it up.  It was a good choice.

On the side, roasted broccoli and cauliflower with curry powder.

Using the curry powder was a great way to bring together both parts of the meal.

My dad and I are running a 10 mile race on Sunday!  I picked up our race packets tonight.  It is right by this great thai place in Springfield.  I couldn’t resist picking up an order of Pad See Ew with tofu.

Workout

I did a 10 minute Ab workout video this morning from On Demand on Comcast.  I almost didn’t, but I realized 10 minutes would be better than nothing.

Speaking of On Demand….

Flashback Friday

While I was perusing (did you know perusing actually means reading very carefully?  Thanks GRE) the On Demand movies tonight, I decided to check out the Holiday Movies.  I was sort of in the mood to watch Love Actually, but I couldn’t find my copy.

A lot of traditional holiday movies (like Miracle on 31st Street, The Grinch, Blah Blah Blah), but also some more out there holiday movies.  Including the movie this song comes from…

Yes.  Rocky.  Sidenote: I wish I could look as badass as the dudes in this video while sporting a beret.

I assume Rocky is considered a Holiday movie because it takes place on New Year’s Day (Die Hard and Die Hard 2 were in the list as well, assuming because they take place on Christmas Eve).  It still made me laugh.

I actually do NOT have this song on my running playlist.  This is pure madness!  This song has always pumped me up!

One year in high school cross country, we saw a team SINGING this song as they warmed up.  We decided that was an awesome idea.  Some of us started singing the intro in practice.  In my last meet senior year, someone brought a boombox at the meet (boombox–talk about old school…do the kids bring ipods and speakers now?).  When a group of us from our team ran by, Eye of the Tiger was playing.

It was fantastic.

The song has a good beat to slow down while running, and you can also double time it for a faster pace.  Do it.  You will feel awesome.

I’m going to download Eye of the Tiger tonight and add it to my running playlist.

Actually, I’m going to download it and add it to my Christmas song list.  Because if Comcast says Rocky is a Holiday Movie, I can say Eye of the Tiger is a Christmas song.

What is your favorite Holiday Movie?

Mine is Die Hard. 

 

 

About Anna S.

History Major. Runner. 20 something. Arts Education Manager. New Okie.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Flashback Friday

  1. Lol, I would never have considered Rocky a holiday movie! Definitely a good song to get pumped up to though. Love Actually is probably my favourite holiday movie but I have yet to watch it this year. 🙂
    I hope the race goes well tomorrow, good luck to both you and your Dad! 😀
    xxx

    • Anna S. says:

      I wouldn’t consider it either. It cracked me up.

      It also had Rambo: First Blood as a Holiday movie. Love Actually is my real favorite holiday movie. I went to rent it and the video store didn’t have it! Boo. They should buy extra copies for this time of year.

Leave a Reply

