Learning to Like Leftovers

Hi!  This was supposed to post on Thursday, and I just realized it didn’t!

Comcast is having internet issues in Illinois, so I’m posting it now.  Hopefully the internet is up and running tomorrow.  I’ll have a race recap tomorrow.

Food

I wanted a smoothie this morning, so I went with the craving.

Pumpkin Smoothie!  In this mix

  • 1 cup of Almond Milk Unsweetened Vanilla
  • 1 scoop of Vanilla Whey Protein Powder
  • 1/2 cup of pumpkin
  • A lot of pumpkin pie spice

Great as always.

I paired the cold smoothie with some hot tea.

I found this flavor yesterday at the grocery store!  I was looking in the Seasonal Aisle for some Celestial Seasoning Holiday Tea.  I’m glad I found this!  I love Twinnings’ Tea.  Celestial Seasoning is great for herbal tea, but I’d rather have a Twinnings’ Black type of tea any day.  Irish Breakfast is my favorite.  This was excellent!  It had a spiciness with some orange flavor as well.

Lunch was some leftover salmon.

Salmon Salad!  I just cut my leftover salmon in pieces.  I didn’t eat all of the cheese (I did not need the whole serving of cheese!).  I also added more spinach.  It was delicious.  I ate the salmon cold.

I really am not the biggest fan of leftovers.  I don’t know why!  I think I just like being in a certain mood for food, and it is hard for me to get excited about leftovers.  However, I cook for just one!  So I need to learn how to like them.

I think the trick for me will be trying to re-purpose the leftovers.  If it seems different enough, I like it!  I’ll have to brainstorm recipes that would work with.

I made another recipe for dinner tonight!

Soup!

A Spiced Carrot Soup from the Weight Watchers website.

I changed it a little bit though!

In my mix

  • 2 cans of carrots
  • 1/4 teaspoon onion powder (instead of shallots…I’m lazy)
  • heaping 1/2 teaspoon of curry powder (the recipe called for chili powder too!  I didn’t use it because I’m not that into spicy!)
  • 2 tsp of canola oil
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • Salt
  • Pepper

I mixed everything together on the stove on medium heat.  I blended it in batches in my blender!  Then I heated it up.  Using canned carrots was great!  Quite the time savor.  I think a roasted carrot would add a little more flavor though.

I paired this with grilled cheese (of course) and roasted brussels sprouts.

I used this recipe from Simply Recipes for the brussels sprouts.  I didn’t use parmesan cheese and I halfed the amount of oil.  This is a great, easy recipe for brussels sprouts.

Workout

I took another long lunch today and ran 4 miles.  I need to join a gym.  Although I probably have enough comp time to take a long lunch every time I need to run, I don’t really want to.  I’m researching my options of gyms now!

Do you like leftovers?

About Anna S.

History Major. Runner. 20 something. Arts Education Manager. New Okie.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Learning to Like Leftovers

  1. cbrady3 says:

    I am weird about leftovers too – I can only handle them when I make a dish with the intention of eating the left overs the next day. just having them around makes me feel like i HAVE to eat them even if it’s not what I really want!!

Leave a Reply

