More Strength Training

This week is crazy at work!  I’m watching Top Chef while drinking some Sugar Cookie Sleigh Rides.

Food

I am having issues getting my pictures to my computer, so no pictures of food today!

I had pumpkin cream cheese (I’m almost out!) on an english muffin.  Part way in the morning I had oatmeal.

Leftovers for lunch!

I made a batch of Coconut Curry Quinoa for dinner.  This time I added chopped carrots to the sauce while it was simmering.  I also paired it with roasted green beans.

I’ve never roasted green beans before!  I don’t know why.  They were delicious.  Roasting really brought out the sweetness.

I also used this fun new purchase while prepping dinner.

I was drawn by the Food Network a little.  I love the Food Network.

I bought them at Kohl’s as part of a buy one get one half off.

They were really handy!  I liked all of the different sizes, so I don’t have to move things with measure cups.  I also don’t have to have my clunky bowls out.  I only have four bowls to begin with, so sometimes trying to get ingredients out were a pain.  They are also very compact and make for easy storage in my tiny kitchen!  (I might like them a little too much).  Thanks Food Network for not letting me down!

Workout

As part of a resolution to strength train more, I decided to do a work out DVD!  I plan on doing more weight room strength training, but I also like doing “strength training” workout DVDs, for non-running days.

I tried this Jillian DVD on demand a few weeks ago with my college roommate.  I felt the burn for sure!  I didn’t get as sweaty as her other workout dvds, but I still liked it.  Sometimes not getting as sweaty is good.

It is hard to do some of the floor moves while I have interested cats weaving around my legs.  I still manage!  Some how.

Do you strength train?  How (weight room or other)?

The weight room intimidates me some!

 


About Anna S.

History Major. Runner. 20 something. Arts Education Manager. New Okie.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to More Strength Training

  1. I love strength training – free weight area at my gym all the way!

  2. Becky says:

    I need new prep bowls! I’m jealous.

    I have a dog and a cat that like to try and “help” me when I do DVDs at home. They’re so helpful aren’t they?!

    As far as strength training: I need to do more. I don’t do enough. I know that my running would improve and my body would start to look even better if I did it – but it’s not something I have ‘fun’ doing. Sometimes at the gym I will use the weight machines after I have already done my 30-45 minutes of cardio.

    For DVDs, I enjoy the Shred and No More Trouble Zones. I even do the TBL Yoga with Bob Harper sometimes. My New Years resolution should have been do to weights more. LOL

    • Anna S. says:

      I agree about it not being fun! Last time I went to cardinal, I did a half-assed strength training for like a hot second. Haha. There were a lot of fit guys around, and it made me nervous.

      I have no more trouble zones but I havent tried it yet. I should!

      I also have two of Bob’s DVDs (strength and cardio burn). I love Jillian, but he is easier on the eyes.

      Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

