Drunken Fish

My town is getting prepped for this awful snowstorm.  One of my facebook friends referred to it as “Blizzaster.”  I love it.  New favorite term.

I went to St. Louis yesterday and today.  My trip was cut short due to the impending snow storm.  (Which so far is not much).  So unfortunately I didn’t get to go to Whole Foods.  😦

On Sunday night, Jacob and I hit up a new to us restaurant Drunken Fish. I’ve never really been to a sushi restaurant, just had it at other restaurants/grocery stores.  I wanted to try a sushi place, and this place was recommend from my friends.    I bought a Groupon for it a while ago, and it was about to expire, so we decided to use it up.

I loved the ambiance of this place.  It was very modern and sleek.

The service was great the entire time we were there.  The server asked if you were new to sushi or had every been there before.  They were great about making recommendations too.

Jacob started with an order of the Asian Lettuce Wraps.  They had chicken in them, so he was all by himself on that one.

I didn’t take pictures of all the food we ordered.  It was a lot!

I also ordered the Drunken Tofu appetizer.  I wasn’t a big fan of this.  Easily my least favorite dish of the night, but everything else was great.

We also shared an order of Sticky Fries.

From the menu, “home-cut Japanese sweet potato fries caramelized in sweet syrup and black sesame seeds.”

These were amazing.  So delicious.  I polished most of these off (Jacob loved them too!)

We decided to split two sushi rolls.  We tried a signature roll from the restaurant and a more “regular” roll.

I loved this.  Very fresh and simple.  I actually managed to eat this with chopsticks.

For the signature roll, per our server’s recommendation, I ordered us the Drunken Fish Roll.

It was very pretty.  Description, “shrimp tempura, japanese mayo, and asparagus.  Topped with red tuna, japanese mayo, masago, and tempura crumps and sprouts.”

Our server did not steer us wrong.  The flavors were awesome.  The crunch on it was excellent.  I would order this again.

Jacob and I are both dessert people, so we obviously had to see what they had to offer.

We ordered two different desserts and split them.

Jacob ordered Mango Mochi. It was good!

However, mine trumped it.

I ordered the Strawberry Cheesecake Makimono.

“Tempura-battered new york style cheesecake and strawberries rolled in pink soy paper, topped with chocolate sauce, mixed nuts, powdered sugar, and whipped cream.”

This was amazing.  Like OMG amazing.  So delicious.  The creaminess of the cheesecake with the crunchy of the tempura batter was amazing.

All in all, I had a great time at Drunken Fish.  It was very interesting!  I liked that they also had stir fry options if you weren’t ready to try sushi but are with others who do.  They also had what looked like a cool drink menu.

After Drunken Fish, we headed to the Moolah to see The King’s Speech.  The King’s Speech was amazing.  Great movie.  It deserves all of the awards it is winning/nominated for for sure.

I went to the grocery store when I came back to Springfield.  I usually go to the grocery store on Mondays anyway.  It was definitely more crowded than usual.  We are getting some ice.  Tomorrow we are supposed to have a few inches in the morning, followed by 12-20 inches.  And 40 mph wind.  We will see what happens!  I’m not looking forward to it.

Have you ever tried sushi? Are you supposed to get snow tomorrow?

 

About Anna S.

History Major. Runner. 20 something. Arts Education Manager. New Okie.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Drunken Fish

  1. The concept behind that dessert is so cool. It looks beautiful!

  2. Ashley says:

    I just found your blog via a comment on another one..are you from Springfield il???? I grew up there I will be so happy if you are!

Leave a Reply

