January Goal Review

I hope everyone is staying warm!  The midwest is getting slammed with snow.  I came home at lunch, and I just stayed at home.  I’m guessing I won’t be able to go in tomorrow either.

However, Phantom is really interested in the snow.  When I came home, he immediately tried to look out the storm door.

He spent all afternoon looking out the window.

The picture really doesn’t do it justice about how bad it was.

Food

I started the day with banana and chocolate peanut butter.

Paired with Van’s Waffles.

Great breakfast.  Kept me going through a morning of work/meetings.

Since I stayed home after work, I decided to spend a little more time on lunch.  I had a quick sandwich, but I also roasted a sweet potato.

The sandwich is roasted red pepper hummus, laughing cow queso fresca spread, and spinach all on toasted bread.  I forgot how much I love sandwiches on toasted bread.

Dinner was something fun.  I wanted to make something exciting and incorporate this sauce my friend gave me.

This was a peach, cinnamon, and wine sauce.  Lisa made it as a jam, but it didn’t set enough (apparently).  I was very excited to try it!  Also that mason jar is adorable.  Apparently the normal pairing suggestion when she mentions it is pork, but Lisa doesn’t eat pork (and neither do I).  I want to make some creative/fun dishes with it!  Or eat it straight from the jar.  I could pretty much do either at this point, but I’m going to try to make things with it.  (It is delicious).

I decided to make a soup to top this on!

I simmered

  • butternut squash cubes
  • one granny smith apple (peeled and cubed)
  • garlic
  • cinnamon

All simmered in three cups of vegetable broth for about 20 minutes.  I blended it in batches while I made a grilled cheese.

Topped with the sauce.

Paired with a grilled cheese of course.  (I don’t think soup should be eaten without grilled cheese)

Workout

Today was supposed to be my first run of marathon training.  But I wasn’t going to risk running outside/going to the gym in this weather.

I decided to try something new at home.

I got this Wii game for Christmas.  I did the 20 minute beginner class.  It was fun! I felt pretty silly doing it, and I am so not coordinated at all.  But I enjoyed it.

I also did 25 minutes of a Bob Harper workout dvd too.

Looks like tomorrow will be awful.  I will probably not go into work.  I brought some work home with me, so that is good!

January Goal Review

Since it is the first day of February, I thought I should review my goals from last month!  I’ll post new goals tomorrow.

Now for my January Goals!

  • Cook two new recipes a week. I did really well with this.  I tried to incorporate new recipes.  I definitely cooked more.
  • Bake at least two things. Fail.  Fail.  Fail.
  • Exercise 5 times a week.  I finally feel like I’m in a routine of going to the gym after work.  It took me a bit to transition inside instead of outside working out, but I did well;.
  • Strength Train 3 times a week. Yes.  I mostly did this.  I want to have a better strength training plan for next month!

How was your first day of February?

About Anna S.

History Major. Runner. 20 something. Arts Education Manager. New Okie.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

